Can you tell I’ve been on a soup kick lately??  I just love it.  It’s so filling, makes a ton, and is usually low in points.  This is a fantastic way to sneak some cauliflower into your family’s diet without them even knowing it.  You need an immersion blender, which I didn’t realize until I was already in the middle of cooking this.  So, I ran to Kohl’s to buy one as my potatoes cooked! LOL I served this with Garlic Cheddar Biscuits (recipe to follow).

2 russet potatoes, washed and dried

1 head of cauliflower, stem removed cut into florets

1 1/2 cups fat free chicken broth

1 1/2 cups 1% reduced fat milk

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup light sour cream

1/2 cup reduced fat shredded sharp cheddar cheese, divided

6 Tbsp chopped chives, divided (I didn’t have any, so I used green onions)

3 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

Cook potatoes either in the microwave or oven until they are tender.  Cool.  Peel.

Meanwhile, steam cauliflower with water in a large covered pot until tender.  Drain and return to pot.  On medium  heat, add chicken broth, milk, potatoes and bring to a boil.  Use an immersion blender to puree until smooth.  Add sour cream, half the chives, salt and pepper and cook on low another 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat.  Ladle 1 cup soup into each bowl.  Top each serving with 2 Tbsp cheese, remaining chives, and bacon.

Makes 5 servings of 1 cup each for 4 pts or 5 pts plus

