This crock pot breakfast turned out really good.  The original recipe didn’t call for any sugar and I was hesitant to try it out.  Then I finally realized I could just add some brown sugar to it… DUH! LOL  Be sure to use Steel Cut oats (sometimes labeled Irish oatmeal) and not the old-fashioned oats.  They will become too soft during slow cooking.  Steel-cut oats are toasted oat groats – the oat kernel that has been removed from the husk that have been cut in 2 or 3 pieces. I really enjoyed having a hot breakfast ready and waiting for me after my workout.

 

8 cups water

2 cups steel-cut oats

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/3 cup dried apricots, chopped

1/4 tsp salt

 

Combine all ingredients in the crock pot.  Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours.

Makes 8 servings of 1 cup each for 3 pts or 4 pts+

I added 1 Tbsp brown sugar and 3 Tbsp of skim milk to my bowl for extra points.  YUM!

