I kept reading about quinoa in many Weight Watcher recipes, so when I saw it in the store one day, I bought it.  And there it sat in my cabinet for quite awhile before I attempted to do anything with it.  Quinoa, pronounced keen-wah, was a staple of the ancient Incas, who called it “the mother grain”.  It contains more protein than most other grains and is a good alternative to rice or couscous.

1 cup quinoa

2 cups water or chicken or vegetable broth

diced vegetables, such as onion, carrots, bell peppers

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes, or until all the liquid is absorbed.  When done, the grain appears soft and translucent, and the germ ring will be visible along the outside edge of the grain.

According to the box, 1/4 cup is 3 points, but I don’t know if that’s cooked or not cooked.

